Our Staff & Board


Kim Crockatt

President (volunteer)
Kim is a founding member of the Kitikmeot Heritage Society, and has extensive experience in the management and administration of non-profit organizations. Kim currently works as the full-time Executive Director of the Nunavut Literacy Council in addition to serving as a volunteer President for the KHS.

Pamela Gross

Executive Director
Having grown up in Cambridge Bay, Pam was eager to return home to better her community after completing the Nunavut Sivuniksavut program, a BA in Anthropology and Aboriginal Studies from Carleton University, and a Pre-Masters program in Indigenous Governance at the University of Winnipeg. Pam has served as an Inuit cultural ambassador and worked as a researcher on many Inuit focused topics. She also currently serves as a Municipal Councilor.

Darren Keith

Senior Researcher
Darren has spent the last two decades researching traditional knowledge, oral history, and place names across the Canadian Arctic. He holds an M.A in Geography from McGill University and a B.A. in Native Studies from the University of Alberta. Darren has been working with the KHS for over 15 years.

Brendan Griebel

Research Associate
Brendan Griebel has worked with the Kitikmeot Heritage society since 2007 in various capacities ranging from Senior Researcher to Executive Director. Brendan is active as an academic in the fields of Arctic anthropology , archaeology, and museum studies. He holds a PhD in Anthropology from the University of Toronto.

Leggie Cristobal

Leggie Cristobal grew up in Manila, Philippines. She graduated with a Bachelors of Science in Nursing and arrived in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut in January of 2008. Leggie has worked at the library since 2012 and enjoys doing arts and crafts with the after school program.

Pam Langan

Originally from Red Pheasant First Nation in Saskatchewan, Pam Langan has worked at the May Hakongak Library since June of 2013. She started the Children Beading for Cancer program with Cambridge Bay youth to raise money for the Breast Cancer Society of Canada. Her favourite part of the job is giving out prizes to the young readers in the Reading Rocks program.

Annie Atigihioyak

Elder in Residence

Mary Avalak

Elder in Residence

Mabel Etegik

Elder in Residence

Louisa Baril

Elder in Residence

Margaret Nakashook

Elder in Residence


Kim Crockatt (President)

Margaret Nakashook (Vice President)

Gwen Angulalik (Secretary / Treasurer)

Mary Avalak (Honorary Chair)

Mary Kaotalok

Jimmy Manigyogina

Jimmy Okhina

Louisa Baril

Susie Manigyogina

Bessie Omilgoetok

Noah Kuptana

Annie Atighioyak

Mabel Etegik